In this section

Media Centre

Media Centre


2024 National Elections Vote Out-of Country on 18 May 2024


For information regarding Immigration and Civic Matters, you can consult the website of the South African Department of Home Affairs:
South African Department of Home Affairs :





The Constitution of South Africa is the supreme law of the country. It provides the legal foundation for the existence of the Republic of South Africa, sets out the rights and duties of the citizens of South Africa, and defines the structure of the Government of South Africa. The current Constitution of South Africa was adopted by the Constitutional Assembly on 11 October 1996.

 South Africa is a federal parliamentary representative democratic republic, wherein the President of South Africa, elected by parliament, is the head of government, and of a multi-party system. Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in both the government and the two chambers of Parliament, the Council of Provinces and the National Assembly. The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature. Government is three-tiered, with representatives being elected at the national, provincial and local levels. South Africans also elect provincial legislatures which govern in respect of each of the country's nine provinces.

The President of the Republic of South Africa is the head of state and head of government under South Africa's Constitution.  The President is elected by members of the National Assembly, the lower house of Parliament, usually being the leader of the largest party, which has been the African National Congress since the first non-racial elections were held on 27 April 1994. The first President to be elected under the new Constitution was Nelson Mandela, who was succeeded by Thabo Mbeki in 1999, followed by Kgalema Motlanthe in September 2008, Jacob Zuma in May 2009 and Cyril Ramaphosa in 2018. In §5, section 88, the Constitution also limits the President's time in office to two terms. Presidents are elected after each parliamentary election, giving presidents a term of office of between five and ten years.

General elections are held every 5 years. The first fully multi-racial democratic election was held in 1994.



Mr Cyril Ramaphosa

Deputy President

Mr Paul Mashatile

List of the South African ministers

Minister of Finance

Mr Enoch Godongwana

Minister of Basic Education

Ms Matsi Moshekga

Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy

Mr Gwede Mantashe

Minister of Forestry, Fisheries and Environment

Ms Barbara Creecy

Minister of Justice and Correctional Services

Mr Ronald Lamola

Minister of Public Enterprises

Mr Pravin Gordhan

Minister of Home Affairs

Dr Pakishe Motsoaledi

Minister of International Relations and Cooperation

Ms Naledi Pandor

Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure

Mr Sihle Zikalala

Minister of Water and Sanitation

Mr Senzo Mchunu

Minister of Health

Mr Mathume Phaahla

Minister of Transport

Ms Sindiwise Chikunga

Minister of Sport, Arts and Culture

Mr Zizi Kodwa

Minister of Communications and Digital Technologies

Mr Mondli Gungubele

Minister of Defence and Military Veterans

Ms Thandi Modise

Minister of Social Development

Ms Lindiwe Zulu

Minister of Public Service and Administration

Ms Noxolo Kiviet

Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs

Ms Thembi Nkadimeng 

Minister of Trade, Industry and Competition

Mr Ebrahim Patel

Minister Small Business Development

Ms Tembisa Ndabeni- Abrahams

Minister of Police

 Gen. Bheki Cele

Minister of Higher Education, Science and Innovation

Dr Bonginkosi Nzimande

Minister of Human Settlements

Ms Mmamoloko Kubayi

Minister of Employment and Labour 

Mr Thembelani Nxesi

Minister of Agriculture, Land reform and Rural Development

Ms Thoko Didiza

Minister of Tourism

Ms Patricia de Lille

Minister in the Presidency 

Mr Khumbudzo Nthshavheni

Minister in the Presidency for Women, Youth and Persons with disabilities

Ms Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

Minister in the Presidency for Electricity

Dr Kgosientsho Ramokgopa

Minister in the Presidency for Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation

Ms Maropene Romokgopa