In this section

Stay Home – Save South Africa


All enquiries must be sent to the following email address:

[email protected]

All communications must be in English.

Media Centre

Media Centre






Official Name : Republic of South Africa


Population : 50,5 million


Urbanisation : 62%


Area : 1,2 million km2


Political system : Constitutional Democracy; partly unitary and partly federal. The power is shared between the central Government and the nine Provinces. The Parliament has two Chambers (National Assembly and National Council of Provinces), with elections every five years. Each of the nine Provinces also has its own Provincial Government and Chamber.


Capital : Pretoria (the administrative capital, where the Central Government, the Ministries and the Embassies are located); Cape Town (the legislative capital, where the Parliament is located); and Bloemfontein (the judicial capital, where the Supreme Court is located).


The nine Provinces : Eastern Cape, Northern Cape, Western Cape, Free State, Gauteng, Kwazulu-Natal, Mpumalanga, Limpopo and North West Province.


Time Zon : GMT + 2


Telephone indicator : + 27


Distances : Cape Town-Johannesburg (1 400 km), Johannesburg-Durban (600 km), Port-Elizabeth-Bloemfontein (700km).


Currency : Rand (R). 1 Rand is divided into 100 cents.


Growth Rate : 2,9% (2012)


Chief exports : Gold, minerals, diamonds, metals and derivatives, agro-foodstuffs


Chief imports : Machinery, transportation equipment, manufactured products, chemicals, oil


Languages : 11 official languages : Zulu, Xhosa, Afrikaans, Sesotho, Setswana, SiSwati, Tshivenda, Ndebele, Xitsonga and English


Communication language : English


National Day : 27 April, in celebration of the first democratic elections held in South Africa (27 April 1994)