In this section

Stay Home – Save South Africa


For information regarding Immigration and Civic Matters, you can consult the website of the South African Department of Home Affairs:
South African Department of Home Affairs :

Media Centre

Media Centre






The Constitution of South Africa is the supreme law of the country. It provides the legal foundation for the existence of the Republic of South Africa, sets out the rights and duties of the citizens of South Africa, and defines the structure of the Government of South Africa. The current Constitution of South Africa was adopted by the Constitutional Assembly on 11 October 1996.

South Africa is a federal parliamentary representative democratic republic, wherein the President of South Africa, elected by parliament, is the head of government, and of a multi-party system. Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in both the government and the two chambers of Parliament, the Council of Provinces and the National Assembly. The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature. Government is three-tiered, with representatives being elected at the national, provincial and local levels. South Africans also elect provincial legislatures which govern in respect of each of the country's nine provinces.


The President of the Republic of South Africa is the head of state and head of government under South Africa's Constitution.  The President is elected by members of the National Assembly, the lower house of Parliament, usually being the leader of the largest party, which has been the African National Congress since the first non-racial elections were held on 27 April 1994. The first President to be elected under the new Constitution was Nelson Mandela, who was succeeded by Thabo Mbeki in 1999, followed by Kgalema Motlanthe in September 2008,  Jacob Zuma in May 2009 and Cyril Ramaphosa in 2018. In §5, section 88, the Constitution also limits the President's time in office to two terms. Presidents are elected after each parliamentary election, giving presidents a term of office of between five and ten years.


General elections are held every 5 years. The first fully multi-racial democratic election was held in 1994.



Cyril Ramaphosa

Deputy President

David Mabuza

List of the South African ministers


Minister of Finance

Nhlanhla Nene

Deputy Minister of Finance

Mondli Gungubele

Minister of Energy

Jeff Radebe

Minister of State Security

Dipuo Letsatsi Duba

Minister of Public Enterprises

Pravin Gordhan

Minister of Home Affairs

Malusi Gigaba

Minister of International Relations

Lindiwe Sisulu

Minister of Public Works

Thulas Nxesi

Minister of Water and Sanitation

Gugile Nkwinti

Minister of Transport

Blade Nzimande

Minister of Sport

Thoko Xasa

Minister of Communications

Nomvula Mokonyane

Deputy Minister of Communications

Pinkie Kekana

Minister of Social Development

Susan Shabangu

Minister of Mineral Resources

Gwede Mantashe

Minister of Cooperative Governance

Zweli Mkhize

Minister of Science and Technology

Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane

Minister of Police

Bheki Cele

Minister of Higher Education

Naledi Pandor

Minister of Human Settlements

Nomaindia Mfeketo

Minister of Public Service and Admin

Ayanda Dlodlo

Minister of Rural Development

Maite Nkoana-Mashabane

Minister of Tourism

Derek Hanekom

Minister in the Presidency for Monitoring

Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

Minister of Women and Disability

Bathabile Dlamini